Blackbaud LMS Reviews 2023

Read Blackbaud LMS reviews and discover how other eLearning Industry community members have experienced the software.

Performance Overview
Overall Rating 90%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend

Aug 31, 2022

Good tool; it helped improve our organizational processes and communications.

Overall Rating 91%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? We are using the tool for all aspects of our school, from Prekindergarten 3 to Grade 12, as well as in all departments across the organization (teachers, administrators, business office, development office, athletics). Through Blackbaud, we've managed to communicate with our constituents effectively. Plus, it has enhanced the way we deal with the educational records aspects of the school. Our educators can now easily organize their classes.
What do you dislike? Blackbaud's solutions have allowed our school to share resources at ease and fully connected. Even though it offers many services needed in a school setting, I wouldn't call it a one-stop-shop. Since we use other software as well, we didn't manage to avoid repeated manual data entry found in multiple offices campuswide. The way the system sends out email communications/newsletters needs to be more robust. If your school setup has complex structures, the current system might not work.
Reviewer photo

Julia M.

Industry : Education - Primary | Company size : 51-200 | Level : Manager | Focus : Education | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as Administrator

Jul 26, 2022

A perfect tool for schools with students and parents who always have access to a device

Overall Rating 78%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? We use this tool in all departments. Its main advantage is that it gives us data integration across departments. Best of all, we've saved so much on postage! After implementation, we stopped mailing anything related to academics. It is also great for sharing info with Advancement, and it has helped us save much time instead of pulling and sending lists for them.
What do you dislike? Some enhancements that would make the system even better are the following: a) Additional scheduling rules like, "do not schedule X in the same semester as Y." b) In Tuition Management, parents should be able to update their records automatically. c) The feeder school should also show on the student's academic record and not have users go to Enrollment Management to see this.
Reviewer photo

Reviewer verified by LinkedIn

Industry : Marketing and Advertising | Company size : 201-500 | Level : Manager | Focus : Administrative | Experience using the software : 6-12 months as User, Administrator

Jul 26, 2022

We changed from Education Edge to this and it help us work so much faster.

Overall Rating 78%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? In short, adjusting schedules is so much faster with this tool. I love that it saves me so much precious time. I really enjoy the ability to enter notes or comments. Actually, I find that it is much faster than it was when using Education Edge. Our plan is to use Blackbaud across the entire organization after the end of our migration. Currently, we are using Canvas, but in the end, we might as well lean solely on the LMS. We are using the application across the Middle, and Upper schools.
What do you dislike? I'd like to see some changes regarding the reporting. For instance, it would be even better if we could print out a scheduling matrix more easily. Adding the ability to print a room matrix would be more useful. Also, I'd love the tool to allow us to print out actual student schedules. Plus, the query data also needs some improvements.
Reviewer photo

Reviewer verified by LinkedIn

Industry : Marketing and Advertising | Company size : 201-500 | Level : Manager | Focus : Administrative | Experience using the software : 6-12 months as Administrator

Jul 19, 2022

Great data management for our School! We use the On solutions to improve communication

Overall Rating 86%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? This system has helped improve all our processes and get rid of the paperwork and missed deadlines. Best of all, our teachers can use their course pages as learning tools and teach their classes more effectively. Things have also improved both for our students and our Admissions Office. We have the ability to manage prospective student data efficiently. I can truly say that the On products are a critical tool for our success as a school, and we wouldn't have made it without them.
What do you dislike? It would be awesome if onBoard would allow prospective families to submit their applications to more than one school at a time. Meaning they could create something like a "common app" solution.
Reviewer photo

Reviewer verified by LinkedIn

Industry : Education - Secondary | Company size : 51-200 | Level : Director | Focus : Education | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as Administrator, Member of the deployment/customization team

Jun 22, 2022

The ON products from Blackbaud have helped us solve the problem of inconsistent data entry

Overall Rating 94%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? Blackbaud has actively helped us save money by consolidating our software needs under a single vendor. Now we have efficient data flow and an expanded capacity to focus on making our organization better.
What do you dislike? We would like to see enhancements in the formatting options. Also, regarding the onBoard enrollment contracts, parents should be able to indicate their payment method (without paying $50/student for Smart Tuition.) It would also be useful to see improvements in the Admission reporting as well. Finally, our advisors need a report of student grades in each of their classes. So, that's another recent request we had—no need to navigate to each student's Progress tab if the above is implemented.
Reviewer photo

Reviewer verified by LinkedIn

Industry : Education - Higher | Company size : 501-1,000 | Level : Manager | Focus : Education | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as Administrator

Aug 6, 2021

Improved communications across campus, detailed reports- made working during covid easier

Overall Rating 91%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? What I love most about Blackbaud is that it allows me to pull detailed reports. For example, it helps me cross-categorize through student personal data, course schedule, and transcript information to get all the insights I need. I trust that all the info I get from the system is reliable and valid. By leveraging all these data, I can run obscure reports and analyses and get to conclusions that most people would never need or think they could possibly need!
What do you dislike? If you're not extremely tech-savvy, it's not very user-friendly. For example, the system could have some obvious shortcuts to common questions.
Reviewer photo

Reviewer verified by LinkedIn

Industry : Education - Higher | Company size : 201-500 | Level : Manager | Focus : Education | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as Administrator

Jul 12, 2021

On the teacher end, it is very user-friendly, though it needs some improvements for the students.

Overall Rating 97%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? As a teacher, I find it very convenient. It's actually pretty easy to learn and use. The system offers a combination of a way to turn in assignments and contact students, along with a grade book. Best of all, it saves time compared to the previous software that I used. One of the things I like about it is the turnitin.com integration. I also like that the software allows me to download any submitted assignments. This way, I can grade them offline at my own pace.
What do you dislike? Some of my students had issues when submitting blank documents. Also, from time to time, the formatting of a submitted document is altered.
Reviewer photo

Reviewer verified by LinkedIn

Industry : Education - Higher | Company size : 11-50 | Level : Manager | Focus : Education | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as Administrator

Apr 3, 2021

Great return on investment, helps keep our school connected, saves teacher time for sure.

Overall Rating 93%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? Blackbaud Education Management Solutions have indeed been a great return on investment until now. All of our teachers use the report card grading and grade book functions. Consequently, our teacher time and our administration have improved a lot. Also, the tool has helped us reduce paper usage by leveraging online course materials, assignments, and assessments. We've noticed better operational efficiency and improved communications, both internally and externally.
What do you dislike? In attendance management there could be some improvements as well. Especially when it comes to absences... It would be great if there was a way to track that at a class level. Finally, the system could use an easier integration with other LMS/SIS. It would be a good idea to work more on how it integrates with CANVAS and google classroom...
Reviewer photo

Reviewer verified by LinkedIn

Industry : Education - Secondary | Company size : 51-200 | Level : Owner | Focus : Education | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as Administrator

Feb 20, 2021

If you need a system to increase parent engagement Blackbaud is one of the best solutions.

Overall Rating 91%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? This education management platform has allowed our teachers to take the next step and integrate technology into their classroom lessons easily. Plus, we now have a clear communication channel where families can find out more information about the school. Blackbaud was one of the main reasons we were successful during the COVID. It helped us overcome the stay-at-home challenges. Our school kept going, and that transition was done fairly smoothly.
What do you dislike? In case you have a smaller school and don't have someone with advanced technical expertise on campus, you might find it challenging to set up the system to meet your school's needs. However, you can overcome setbacks with the user training that Blackbaud can provide.
Reviewer photo

Reviewer verified by LinkedIn

Industry : Education - Secondary | Company size : 51-200 | Level : Senior | Focus : Education | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as Administrator

Nov 9, 2020

A superb platform for our school - teachers use it as a one-stop solution for all their classes

Overall Rating 96%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? OnCampus has everything I need to run for an iPad-powered classroom; everything works fine from attendance to assignments to grades. It's fantastic that I no longer have to worry about handing out paper assignments or homework. Nothing gets lost! One thing I love about it is that when a student uploads a completed assignment, the system time stamps it. What's more, through the Topics section, I can upload content and articles for students to access.
What do you dislike? I've got nothing negative to note here. We used to have an issue with a long lag time in viewing assignments that students had submitted for grading, but the problem has been addressed. The new system functions much more effectively, and I'm really happy with it.
Reviewer photo

Reviewer verified by LinkedIn

Industry : Education - Secondary | Company size : 51-200 | Level : Manager | Focus : Education | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as User, Administrator

Sep 6, 2020

Easy to use software, suitable for students, teachers, and parents - Information all in one place

Overall Rating 95%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? Overall it's very user-friendly, even for novice users. You can easily navigate and find all the info you need! I love the software's ability to create groups. This has been extremely useful to us since we've been using the group features for dorm assignments (I'm a high school teacher). Now, we can easily find all the students that live in one dorm by selecting the related group.
What do you dislike? At the moment, I have not found anything negative to mention. I like this system a lot. It has made my workflow easier!
Reviewer photo

Reviewer verified by LinkedIn

Industry : Education - Higher | Company size : 51-200 | Level : Senior | Focus : Education | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as Administrator

Aug 8, 2020

We use Blackbaud K-12 "ON" across the whole organization of our school and are very happy with it.

Overall Rating 91%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? Blackbaud "ON" is what we use for merely everything! From our website, email communications, and teacher websites to grading, registrar, scheduling, School Information System (SIS), and Admissions. For student billing, we integrate with Smart Tuition. Our teachers love it, and most of them find the platform easier than FAWeb for grading. Students and parents are more engaged and log into the school website far more frequently than before.
What do you dislike? I love the system, but I'd like to see more enhancements regarding the Grading review. It needs to be more user-friendly, especially for division heads. Mostly because there are times they have to review grades and have comments submitted by faculty. It would also be great if teachers were able to see comments written in prior quarters when writing them.
Reviewer photo

Reviewer verified by LinkedIn

Industry : Education - Higher | Company size : 201-500 | Level : Director | Focus : Program and Project Management | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as Member of the deployment/customization team

Jun 2, 2019

As a programming teacher, I find Blackbaud great for administrative management and automation.

Overall Rating 99%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? We use Blackbaud's Education Management Solutions for our digital marketing school. This tool is very robust. It allows us to automate day-to-day activities, which is great. I've noticed that I'm more organized ever since its implementation. Best of all, now all the student data I need are in the cloud, and I can easily access them. Another one of its pros is that it integrates almost all aspects of administrative management and data storage.
What do you dislike? We had some issues with the customer service integration of the application. So, users who needed support couldn't use it, and we had to manage them in person. Or, sometimes we had to use other channels. As I've mentioned above, the app needs a lot of training to get it right. We had a hard time creating and configuring an admission or billing form the first time.
Reviewer photo

Reviewer verified by LinkedIn

Industry : Higher Education | Company size : 51-200 | Level : Senior | Focus : Information Technology | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as Administrator

Jun 1, 2019

Blackbaud is great tool if you want to manage all of our candidate, applicant, and student info

Overall Rating 82%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? onBoard has really helped us manage the admissions process. Its interactive checklists enable parents to complete the application process easier. Online enrollments are now the most preferred solution. Also, we use the tool to manage all of our current student and family information. With onRecord and onCampus, we can now group students into classes, activities, athletics, and other types of groups which have been extremely useful.
What do you dislike? Sometimes I've found myself getting confused when trying to grant user access to specific areas within the system. It can be unintuitive at times, resulting in unexpected results.
Reviewer photo

Reviewer verified by LinkedIn

Industry : Education - Secondary | Company size : 51-200 | Level : Senior | Focus : Consulting | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as Administrator

Jul 16, 2018

As a high-school parent, I like that this tool allows having all portals in one place

Overall Rating 88%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? My kids' school used multiple software systems with multiple log-ins until 2 years ago. That was a real frustration for a parent with 2 kids... Now I can log in once and see everything that I need on one platform. From grades, schedules, and college preparation to billing and contacting teachers all in one place. I'd say it's a parent-friendly system, and it has helped me communicate easier with the school.
What do you dislike? I admit that it took me some time to learn my way around it. But, as soon as I got used to navigating to where I needed to go, I had no issues. So far, it seems to work well.
Reviewer photo

Reviewer verified by LinkedIn

Industry : Higher Education | Company size : 11-50 | Level : Director | Focus : Research | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as User