Lessonly Reviews 2022

Read Lessonly reviews and discover how other eLearning Industry community members have experienced the software.

Performance Overview
Overall Rating 88%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend

Sep 5, 2022

Nice tool to train teams, but the UI could use some improvement.

Overall Rating 71%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? Companies that hire on a frequent basis can leverage this software to help their workforce have quick access to all the required information. If you don't have in-house trainers, Lessonly is a good tool to help your new hires (or customers) to get a better understanding of your company and products. Going through specific modules gets people to be onboarded faster, and you have the opportunity to help current team members improve as well.
What do you dislike? I still think there's room for improvement regarding the UI/UX. The interface didn't give me that "a-ha" moment. Also, there are times when the training won't load at all. Plus, the timer seems to be a little problematic. Finally, I couldn't quite figure out how many modules were assigned to me. You see, until you finish one, the system doesn't allow you to see the new module path. If they improve this, it would be much easier for newcomers to organize their time, etc.
Reviewer photo

Reviewer verified by LinkedIn

Industry : Program Development | Company size : 11-50 | Level : Director | Focus : Consulting | Experience using the software : Less than 6 months as User, Administrator, Member of the deployment/customization team

Jul 26, 2022

From a trainee perspective, I like how easy Lessonly made my first few days in my new job.

Overall Rating 78%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? Lessonly is extremely useful if you want to assist new employees in their positions. At first, I was unsure if I would reach the expectations for my new position. Everything was completely new to me, so I didn't know how and where to start. I still remember how anxious I felt since they hired me and I hadn't even started working at the office. To my surprise, the company has an awesome culture, and employee onboarding was one of its top priorities. So, they introduced me to Lessonly!
What do you dislike? A comment bar would be a great addition to the tool; also, a kind of knowledge base is missing. Maybe they could add a place where users would be able to ask questions or confirm some information regarding the content. Also, I'd love to see an app so that I can continue studying over my smartphone. I did face some minor difficulties with the video-making tool; there were times I had to re-record my answers because the recording didn't always start at the right moment.
Reviewer photo

Reviewer verified by LinkedIn

Industry : Marketing and Advertising | Company size : 51-200 | Level : Manager | Focus : Administrative | Experience using the software : Less than 6 months as User, Administrator

Jul 26, 2022

If you're looking for a simple LMS, this gets the job done.

Overall Rating 78%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? My team needed a simple and easy way to scale learning for our quickly growing organization. We found that solution in Lessonly. It has a clean interface and makes it relatively easy to create lessons within the LMS. Its minimalistic design made things easier for sure. With a bit of extra work, we made it even nicer and more enticing for our team members.
What do you dislike? At first, we had to rely solely on Lessonly's built-in editor, but they've begun to add support for SCORM - so that's a plus. They have good support (responsive when it comes to troubleshooting), but I've noticed that they make very few updates/changes based on user feedback. I hope they pay more attention to what their customers need...
Reviewer photo

Reviewer verified by LinkedIn

Industry : Marketing and Advertising | Company size : 51-200 | Level : Manager | Focus : Administrative | Experience using the software : Less than 6 months as Administrator

Jul 19, 2022

An easy-to-use tool that works well; very useful if you're creating lessons for the first time.

Overall Rating 97%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? To be honest, I didn't have to spend a lot of time learning how to use it. Plus, every time I want to try something new, there are many lessons/guides for admins. These also include tips like how much content you should use, best practices regarding content, when to put information into a video, and much more. I've been adding images, quizzes, and videos to my lessons; everything works really well. I also like how easy it is to create lesson paths.
What do you dislike? The only disadvantage I can think of is that I can only add an editor one lesson at a time. So, if you have lots of lessons having to do that for every single one isn't very convenient. It would be great if the user could select all the lessons where a new admin for auditing is needed and make it happen with one click.
Reviewer photo

Patrick M.

Industry : Leisure, Travel & Tourism | Company size : 11-50 | Level : Senior | Focus : Education | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as Administrator

Jun 22, 2022

In terms of price and features, its perfect as a middle-ground solution.

Overall Rating 93%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? Before choosing Lessonly, I tested quite a few LMS solutions. I can surely say I've become a fan! Our company is middle range, under 50 employees, so I recommend it to similar businesses. However, they do have plans for larger businesses as well. It's got all the features we needed (and at a reasonable price), but what I love most is how responsive their support is. I couldn't be happier!
What do you dislike? I'd like to see some more customization. Also, having more formatting variations would be a plus. I wish I could host videos through Lessonly. We can only embed them now, so this should be a priority in future improvements. Also, as an admin, I'd love it if the system allowed me to create a grading key.
Reviewer photo

Reviewer verified by LinkedIn

Industry : Elearning | Company size : 11-50 | Level : Manager | Focus : Program and Project Management | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as Administrator

Aug 2, 2021

Thumbs up! If you have remotely-based team members, this is a must.

Overall Rating 100%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? Our company has gone hybrid for the last two years, so Lessonly was a godsend. We needed a tool to help train remote teams and keep everyone engaged (especially new hires), and I'm so relieved that we've gone with this choice. For the past year, the tool has constantly been improving. They've been releasing new features and extra enhancements, which is awesome. Keep it up, guys!
What do you dislike? I wish they improve the way that tags are created and managed as it doesn't seem to be very intuitive in comparison to other parts of the platform. All in all, the tool is great, don't get me wrong. If there was any other enhancement they could do, maybe add an easier way to manage lessons... Having something more visual like a flowchart or a tree would help to understand faster what lessons exist under what paths/teams.
Reviewer photo

Reviewer verified by LinkedIn

Industry : Information Technology and Services | Company size : 51-200 | Level : Director | Focus : Education | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as Administrator

Jun 5, 2021

Our employees rave about how simple and user-friendly it is!

Overall Rating 88%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? Lessonly is simple and super easy to use. Its biggest advantage is that we can delegate lessons to experts. SMEs can build their own content, and we can even review it before publication. The focal point of all training is becoming better at our jobs. We've surely seen more engagement throughout our company. All members are set on increasing their skills.
What do you dislike? The system has been having plenty of updates lately, so I would appreciate seeing a calendar view of any new upcoming changes. Also, the reporting needs some enhancement. For example, I'd like to see a report with just comments. By doing that for all Lessons, we could help our leadership to review training results. Sure, numbers are great, but we find it would be even more useful to be able to have comments AND numbers.
Reviewer photo

James M.

Industry : Professional Training & Coaching | Company size : 51-200 | Level : Director | Focus : Education | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as Administrator

Mar 31, 2021

I'm very impressed! Everyone is more involved - Such an inspiration for the whole team.

Overall Rating 94%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? If you want to give your employees easy access to your institutional knowledge, it's a great tool to start with. We mainly use Lessonly for onboarding, skills training, and safety training. In the next few months, we plan to set up internal certifications as well. What I love most about it is that it can be tied up to in-person events and online training. Our company culture is all about focusing on employee development, so we're after training that is aligned with our core values.
What do you dislike? The whole experience was a bit overwhelming at first since it was our first time using an LMS. Before Lessonly, we used to spend staff time that we now allocate to other growth opportunities. I'd like to see more formatting options and the ability to resize photos. The latter is a must to have good results both on mobile and computer users. Maybe they should consider adding some options for viewing online as a mobile user. It would definitely help speed up the process.
Reviewer photo

Reviewer verified by LinkedIn

Industry : Online Media | Company size : 51-200 | Level : Director | Focus : Human Resources | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as Administrator

Feb 26, 2021

It helped us a lot with the shift to remote training. Great for onboarding remote employees

Overall Rating 99%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? If you're still managing your onboarding plan with Excel spreadsheets, you're going to love Lessonly... It has saved us so much time when onboarding remote teams!! How much? We now spend 60% less time to onboard our new hires. This is significant time and money we can allocate to other important projects. All the members of our management love the new system and appreciate how much time we've saved.
What do you dislike? Some of our trainers experienced issues in the formatting. Most times, it was related to complex training material creation.
Reviewer photo

Reviewer verified by LinkedIn

Industry : Human Resources | Company size : 51-200 | Level : Manager | Focus : Human Resources | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as User, Administrator

Jul 12, 2020

Amazing product for training new hires. We use it to test product knowledge quite often.

Overall Rating 82%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? This is one of my favorite tools for onboarding new hires. It helps new employees have a fantastic experience right from the start. What I like most is that I can build lessons within different paths. Its UI is very comprehensive and intuitive. I'm very happy with it because it's perfect for staying organized. Plus, I can track my employee's progress within each path too! I love that I can create many different trainings for my team - great if you're into continuous improvement.
What do you dislike? Technically, moving lessons from one path to the next takes a bit longer than it should. I'd love to see it improve in future updates. Don't you think it would be much easier with the addition of a couple of shortcuts? Making the process quicker would save trainers loads of time.
Reviewer photo

Reviewer verified by LinkedIn

Industry : Computer & Network Security | Company size : 201-500 | Level : Director | Focus : Education | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as Administrator

Mar 31, 2020

Lessonly makes it quick and easy to build training modules, even if you're not a tech-savvy guy.

Overall Rating 91%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? If you want a plug-and-play LMS, you've got it. With Lessonly, we've managed to scale our brand new team. We use this tool to cover all of our product lines and brand extensions. For example, onboarding new hires has become much easier. And we can now get them up to speed quickly. As a PMG business, we continuously add new products and brands. So, Lessonly has proven to be a great solution to train team members and customers as new products come down the pipeline.
What do you dislike? I can't say I've found an issue that would make me dislike it. On the pricing side, it would be better if I could add more licenses at a time. After all, we are a startup, so our growth happens sporadically and varies from quarter to quarter.
Reviewer photo

Reviewer verified by LinkedIn

Industry : Media Production | Company size : 1-10 | Level : Manager | Focus : Consulting | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as Administrator

Sep 4, 2019

An excellent tool even for inexperienced users. Their onboarding is seamless! Very happy with it :)

Overall Rating 82%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? I'm very happy with Lessonly! Now, we've got all our training and knowledge database streamlined and in one place. Our team also utilizes this tool to send out newsletters. We've found that Lessonly has helped cut back our email and slack clutter. What's more, we also use it to track mandatory ongoing training. The above was crucial, especially for our licensed professionals. Plus, we've got plenty of mandatory HR updates. I love that verything is traceable within the Insights.
What do you dislike? Even though I love this tool, I've noticed that the quizzes and practice on-demand can be clunky. I'd like to see the system to allow us to roll out the same quizzes to the same user. When trying to integrate it with Salesforce, we stubbled upon some issues.
Reviewer photo

Reviewer verified by LinkedIn

Industry : Professional Training & Coaching | Company size : 51-200 | Level : Manager | Focus : Education | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as User, Administrator

Aug 3, 2019

An excellent tool for company-wide trainings. Exceptional for onboarding new employees.

Overall Rating 78%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? Seeing all that Lessonly offers made me realize what was missing from previous tools. Until now, it has proven to be one of the best eLearning services I've tried! As a manager, I'm delighted that I can use Lessonly to provide feedback, and I can also use it for grading regarding more complex topics. Sometimes, I simply rely on automatic grading with user-defined rubrics. Either way, evaluating learners has become a lot easier!
What do you dislike? The UI needs some revamping, in my opinion. Compared to other software I've seen, it seems a bit old. However, they make up for it with its ton of resources. They do share a lot with users with the materials.
Reviewer photo

Reviewer verified by LinkedIn

Industry : Consumer Goods | Company size : 201-500 | Level : Manager | Focus : Education | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as User, Administrator

Aug 2, 2019

An easy-to-use product that brings a huge impact (and with superb customer service!)

Overall Rating 93%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? Before switching to Lessonly for our Knowledgebase system, we used another platform. With our previous tool, editing/updating was really hard. Plus, sharing feedback on the learner and admin side was also a struggle. Now with Lessonly, we've solved all the above. And, we've got a more effective search functionality as well. No more powerpoint for us:) We can now easily have the same training throughout our whole organization. And at the same time, we can edit during training without any hiccups.
What do you dislike? There isn't anything that made me dislike Lessonly. One thing that could improve is the Paths and the Lesson sections... When we create a specific path, we might need to create variants. So, we'd like to be able to change one Lessons element without it being changed in the others as well.
Reviewer photo

Reviewer verified by LinkedIn

Industry : Elearning | Company size : 51-200 | Level : Manager | Focus : Consulting | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as User, Administrator

Jun 4, 2017

Overall, Lessonly is a fantastic LMS. It's a great tool for those who want to push content

Overall Rating 93%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? I've used it both as an admin and as a user; it's very easy. Best of all, it has tons of functionality. Being able to try so many things ensures that the content is engaging. For example, users can enjoy videos, gifs, embedded files, etc. Also, I'm obsessed with the Interactive quiz functionality! I love it... It's great because a) you keep learners engaged b) it helps learners absorb information.
What do you dislike? I can't say I've found many cons. Since there's a lot of content, it was expected that there would be some organizational issues. Yet, they've managed to solve them in an extremely intuitive way.
Reviewer photo

Reviewer verified by LinkedIn

Industry : Information Technology and Services | Company size : 51-200 | Level : Entry | Focus : Consulting | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as User, Administrator