Schoolbox Reviews 2019

Read Schoolbox reviews and discover how other eLearning Industry community members have experienced the software.

Performance Overview
Overall Rating 85%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend

Nov 13, 2019

An effective LMS that meets the complex needs of our environment

Overall Rating 83%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? Integration with our Student Management System is quite comprehensive and out of the box, requiring little customisation.
What do you dislike? Customisation work can be difficult to achieve, or not timely enough, given it is generally user base driven

Reviewer verified by LinkedIn

Industry : Education - Secondary | Company size : 201-500 | Level : Manager | Focus : Information Technology | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as User, Administrator, Member of the deployment/customization team, Member of the procurement team

Nov 13, 2019

Schoolbox has been a vital component of the digital transformation of the School

Overall Rating 93%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? We implemented Schoolbox back in 2010 and so I have enjoyed almost 10 years now working with the team there, in what has become a true partnership. We love that they have built the product out based on the requirements of their users, that it continues to evolve and they work alongside their users to respond to their needs, something most 'out of box' solutions won't do.
What do you dislike? Least ...they have had some great developers we have worked closely with over the years and so it's always hard to see them move on, so that's my least favourite thing, but given they all move onto bigger and better roles it could also be seen positively, as to me it shows that Schoolbox invests in it's people.

Mary-Lou O.

Industry : Education - Secondary | Company size : 201-500 | Level : Director | Focus : Information Technology | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as User, Administrator, Member of the deployment/customization team, Member of the procurement team

Nov 12, 2019

It is a well integrated package that affords a consistent branded approach.

Overall Rating 91%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? I enjoy the simplicity to engage with the software and the depth of analytics it provides me.
What do you dislike? I would like to colour code Course, Unit and Class pages to make it clearly identifiable for all staff.

Reviewer verified by LinkedIn

Industry : Education - Secondary | Company size : 51-200 | Level : Manager | Focus : Education | Experience using the software : 6-12 months as Member of the deployment/customization team

Nov 11, 2019

Focussed on needs of the k-12 education sector....

Overall Rating 81%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? Integrated approach of news feed, curriculum, assessment...everything required in one place for all users in the school community.
What do you dislike? Admin functions not intuitive - superusers can spend significant time looking for what they require. Some limitations in resource browser and response / easy of managing folders.

Tanya A.

Industry : Education - Secondary | Company size : 1,001-5,000 | Level : Senior | Focus : Education | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as User, Administrator, Member of the deployment/customization team

Nov 11, 2019

Innovator in the field of virtual education, with three legends at the helm.

Overall Rating 84%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? The ability to capture all components of school life in one software package. From learning to management and tracking of NCCD, Schoolbox provides innovative solutions to contemporary questions in education and if they don't currently have a solution, they are open and willing to pursue an adjustment in order for the software to best serve the client.
What do you dislike? Excited about the movement of ePortfolio to the Primary Project. This will help move us forward as a school.

Thomson W.

Industry : Education - Primary | Company size : 501-1,000 | Level : Manager | Focus : Education | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as User, Administrator

Nov 11, 2019

Excellent All-in-one LMS Product that is easy to use and integrate with our SIS

Overall Rating 82%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? Schoolbox is an all-in-one platform including a powerful Learning Management System, easy to use communication tools and community engagement functionality. This means that all of our users are connected in one central place with quick access to the information which is relevant to them.
What do you dislike? Now that we have so much information in our instance we are finding that some of the components are a little simple for our needs However we do acknowledge that with every update release, they are becoming more advanced.

Gemma D.

Industry : Education - Secondary | Company size : 201-500 | Level : Manager | Focus : Media and Communication | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as User, Administrator, Member of the deployment/customization team, Member of the procurement team

Nov 11, 2019

Its a great tool for K-12 schools to use for combining an LMS and communications platform.

Overall Rating 93%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? I think the data analytics that can be extracted from the platform are hugely useful, the ability to access information within 3 clicks is very important and its a great comms tool to reduce email noise.
What do you dislike? There is nothing that is not to like about this product, the team are continuously looking at ways to improve the platform to make it better for schools to use. Particularly its development in the rubric space has been fantastic.

Reviewer verified by LinkedIn

Industry : Education - Secondary | Company size : 201-500 | Level : Manager | Focus : Education | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as User, Administrator, Member of the deployment/customization team, Member of the procurement team

Nov 11, 2019

Schoolbox is a very good product with huge functionality. The company understands how schools work.

Overall Rating 89%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? The Schoolbox community is excellent. The company has established a culture and framework that is very effective in supporting learning through collaboration. I have found the regional user forums and annual national conferences to be excellent. The design reflects a deep understanding of how schools operate and it functions very reliably. Schoolbox is a sophisticated yet relatively simple tool to manage complexity in schools.
What do you dislike? The greatest challenge with this software in our first year has been the training aspect around the 'course builder' component. In particular, teacher understanding of the relationship between 'course builder', 'course outline' and importing classes and course outlines. Related to this is the process of submitting assessment with course builder.

Ian H.

Industry : Education - Secondary | Company size : 51-200 | Level : Manager | Focus : Education | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as Member of the deployment/customization team

Nov 1, 2019

Schoolbox provides the flexibility to add value to schools in a range of key areas.

Overall Rating 82%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? Schoolbox has the flexibility to incorporate a broad range of functions for schools from news and announcements, to class learning functions, assessment and continuous reporting options.
What do you dislike? Documents searching can become unwieldy after some time and depends on care in naming conventions, rather than document text searches. The assessment process, while improved with the new self-reflection tools, still presupposes an online submission of work which is not typically the case for most schools currently.

Warrick W.

Industry : Education - Secondary | Company size : 51-200 | Level : Manager | Focus : Education | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as Member of the deployment/customization team

Oct 31, 2019

A leading learning and teaching, connection/collaboration tool in the industry.

Overall Rating 94%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? It is always evolving and stayed true to its objectives in enabling student's learning in the digital age, curriculum delivery in an efficient and effective manner, and configurable to maximise end user experience using systems administration features/tools that are simple to use but to great effect, etc.
What do you dislike? Nothing to add here ..........................................................................................

Walter C.

Industry : Education - Secondary | Company size : 1,001-5,000 | Level : CXO | Focus : Information Technology | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as Member of the procurement team

Schoolbox logo

Schoolbox — Oct 31, 2019

Hey Walter! Thanks for the wonderful words. Thanks for taking the time to provide a review and feedback. 👍

Oct 28, 2019

They are a valued, innovative and reliable partner to The Scots College.

Overall Rating 90%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? In a nutshell it covers two birds with one stone for Scots. It's our LMS (Learning Management System) and our Intranet/Portal for communications to all campuses (8) and users. Most other educational software packages are either/or whereas Schoolbox is both and both core areas are great for Scots (well developed). That's it...oh and it's intuitive and simple to manage and use. Uptake is quick for all students, staff and parents.
What do you dislike? Not much I can put here. I like it. They could focus on completing some of their modules a little better but most of them are great. It gets better and better with every update.

Paul L.

Industry : Education - Secondary | Company size : 1,001-5,000 | Level : Director | Focus : Education | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as User, Administrator, Member of the deployment/customization team, Member of the procurement team

Schoolbox logo

Schoolbox — Oct 31, 2019

Hey Paul! Thanks so much for your wonderful feedback and review. We really appreciate you taking the time. We love working with you and your school and are keen to continue evolving all Schoolbox's features/tools, to help save people more time in their day to day, and enhance communication, teaching & learning for your schools. Thanks again :)

Oct 22, 2019

We deliberately chose Schoolbox because we formed the belief that it would fit our needs.

Overall Rating 72%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? We love that it is able to be adapted to our context and that it is both an LMS and a Portal.
What do you dislike? I'd love it if it were easier to extract school reports in printable formats.

William K.

Industry : Education - Secondary | Company size : 1,001-5,000 | Level : Director | Focus : Education | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as Administrator

Schoolbox logo

Schoolbox — Oct 23, 2019

Thanks for your helpful review William. We recognise various requirements for exporting reports, such as for compliance or taking grades with you when you leave school. We're always working with schools on how we can evolve & improve their experience. Schoolbox includes neat print styles so you can simply use your browser to print pages. We've added a feature (https://help.schoolbox.com.au/homepage/2385#component95154) to summarise a student's grade report on one page, for easy printing. Thanks.

Oct 22, 2019

Schoolbox is a world class Learning Management System and School portal.

Overall Rating 99%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? Schoolbox is very visually appealing to all users of the software. It is very easy to use to provide a myriad of information to all key stakeholders in a school be that teachers, students or parents. Schoolbox has a very strong development roadmap and is constantly improving the software to meet the ever changing needs of schools. The support is also unparalleled.
What do you dislike? Overall I am very satisfied with Schoolbox and therefore cannot think of anything that I like the least.

Tim B.

Industry : Education - Secondary | Company size : 201-500 | Level : Director | Focus : Information Technology | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as User, Administrator

Schoolbox logo

Schoolbox — Oct 23, 2019

Thanks Tim for taking the time to review Schoolbox and provide such helpful feedback. 👍🏽

Oct 22, 2019

Can get the job done with potential to grow more..

Overall Rating 81%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? - Support - customization - Administration Area (with all Admin capabilities) - Schoolbox is not just an LMS.
What do you dislike? - Very frequent releases. - Some bugs in new features releases. - Some complexity in some features ( like linking courses to class pages)

Tarek S.

Industry : Education - Secondary | Company size : 501-1,000 | Level : Senior | Focus : Information Technology | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as Administrator

Schoolbox logo

Schoolbox — Oct 23, 2019

Thanks for your feedback Tarek! We aim to deliver the best experience for our customers. Frequent Minor Release (improvements/fixes) are auto deployed to avoid disruption. We’ve enhanced release testing w/ a dedicated testing team, for 0 bugs on delivery. Our Major Release Staging Environments help schools test new features w/ us, to ensure they’re bug free before going live. Based on school feedback, Courses are 2nd generation & always improving. Do you have ideas for improving Courses? Thanks.

Oct 22, 2019

Always evolving and well supported. Overall this product functions well.

Overall Rating 71%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? Notifications, News, SSO. Communication has improved. Provide us with a central place to launch off to other packages.
What do you dislike? Security / Permission settings, Grade groups. In general this product has more hits than misses. Worth looking at.

Reviewer verified by LinkedIn

Industry : Education - Secondary | Company size : 1,001-5,000 | Level : Senior | Focus : Information Technology | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as Administrator

Schoolbox logo

Schoolbox — Oct 23, 2019

Thanks for your review! We take security very seriously—it’s the utmost importance to us—we believe security is a culture, not a test. Our code review process & architecture is designed around a Security First model & welcome Security Audits, participate in customer Security Audits & encourage feedback. Also see our article on Privacy Legislation: https://help.schoolbox.com.au/account/anonymous.php?page=/news/225. Do you have insights on improving security, permissions, & grade groups? Thanks.