Lectora Reviews 2020

Read Lectora reviews and discover how other eLearning Industry community members have experienced the software.

Performance Overview
Overall Rating 90%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend

Aug 21, 2020

Lectora is the only software needed, it is just that POWERFUL!

Overall Rating 96%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? I've used Lectora for over 10 years and I love that it can do absolutely ANYTHING!!! The developers listen to the customers and add features and items that are requested. It is perfect for any elearning development, especially 508 Compliant and Responsive Design. I love the library objects, eLearning Brothers assets, and the If/Then/Else feature!!!
What do you dislike? That is can do ANYTHING! Sometimes it is a bit overwhelming as it can do so much! Several years ago, I would say their customer service wasn't good, but the last 3 years it is back up and fantastic! I do wish they would bring back the "mail to" option, I understand that it didn't work for some, but all of our clients loved it.
Reviewer photo

C M.

Industry : Elearning | Company size : 1-10 | Level : Owner | Focus : Operations | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as User, Administrator, Member of the deployment/customization team, Member of the procurement team

Jul 20, 2020

We use it exclusively for our online training company and use it for years and see no reason to stop

Overall Rating 90%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? It incorporates everything we need to get our courses out to the world. Our team has been using Lectora a long time, over 10 years. We are most comfortable with this software, and know where to go to find answers to complex programming needs, or we can add in javascript when needed. It is powerful and versatile. The software engineers are open to listen to suggestions to improve the capabilities, as they have been over the many years we have been using.
What do you dislike? Some of the parts like variables can get complex. That part requires a learning curve. I do not understand the variables and find it confusing. I wish that there was a class or tutorial on what we would use them for and how to use them, scenario based learning.
Reviewer photo

Reviewer verified by LinkedIn

Industry : Hospitality | Company size : 1-10 | Level : Partner | Focus : Operations | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as Member of the deployment/customization team

Jul 13, 2020

Lectora is the most powerful authoring software on the market.

Overall Rating 75%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? Our team has been using Lectora a long time, over 10 years. We are most comfortable with this software, and know where to go to find answers to complex programming needs, or we can add in javascript when needed. It is powerful and versatile. The software engineers are open to listen to suggestions to improve the capabilities, as they have been over the many years we have been using.
What do you dislike? The support over the last couple years has been poor, but yet we are required to purchase the support service package. Also the yearly renewal fee is high, but in line with other software I suppose.
Reviewer photo

Heidi S.

Industry : Elearning | Company size : 1-10 | Level : Owner | Focus : Consulting | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as User, Administrator

Jul 13, 2020

I think it's a very good development platform for eLearning. Much more powerful than Storyline..

Overall Rating 81%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? The flexibility to make your project simplistic all the way to complex. I like that you are not held back by a bunch of predetermined constraints like other software. I've used Lectora since version 1, sometime in the early 2000's.
What do you dislike? I don't like that some functionality was removed, specifically the "mailto" option. The reason given was not that many people used it. I don't know how the development team would know that. It was very useful. I also don't like that annual tech support is required to buy. I don't need tech support and don't like paying for it. I did not renew my license because of this new policy.
Reviewer photo

Bob D.

Industry : Elearning | Company size : 1-10 | Level : Owner | Focus : Consulting | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as User, Administrator, Member of the deployment/customization team, Member of the procurement team

Jul 2, 2020

Lectora Online is a great tool for a global training organization.

Overall Rating 88%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? Having responsive design built into the authoring tool is great. 1 title for all devices makes it easy to manage projects.
What do you dislike? Syncing audio needs to be simplified, more like how Articulate and Storyline handle it.
Reviewer photo

Dave O.

Industry : Human Resources | Company size : 10,000+ | Level : Manager | Focus : Human Resources | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as User, Administrator, Member of the deployment/customization team

Jun 19, 2020

Lectora is an authoring tool you won't outgrow as you improve your development skills.

Overall Rating 91%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? That the developers of Lectora care enough to make the tool the best in its class, and they didn't drop the ball when it comes to providing an authoring tool that can be used to create accessible e-Learning — and still be interactive and engaging!
What do you dislike? I'm thinking specifically of accessible e-learning... Because Lectora is so powerful and there are many ways to do something, it is possible to do something in a way that doesn't meet best practice. It is important to provide guidance on best-use for some features. Incorporating tips into the authoring tool's interface would be ideal.
Reviewer photo

Christine O.

Industry : Elearning | Company size : 1-10 | Level : Owner | Focus : Consulting | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as User

Jun 18, 2020

Lectora is a tool that I rely heavily on to create highly complex training scenarios.

Overall Rating 99%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? I find it to be incredibly easy to use and allows me to create content that requires a high level of programming quickly and efficiently. I rely on it heavily when developing training scenarios within my department that I wouldn't be able to otherwise.
What do you dislike? At this time I can't really think of anything that I don't like. If I had to come up with something, having logical error detection. Meaning, if I were to create something that the program didn't think was correct, it would prompt me to validate this is what I want to do. That way I wouldn't have to spend a lot of time troubleshooting errors in my title.
Reviewer photo

Ryan M.

Industry : Higher Education | Company size : 5,001-10,000 | Level : Director | Focus : Education | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as User, Administrator

Jun 18, 2020

It is a fabulous simulation development tool for creating simulations of actual applications.

Overall Rating 98%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? How easy it is to do what I want it to do. I teach my informatics students how to develop interactive training modules on Electronic Health Records. They take off running with it.
What do you dislike? Initially there was no Mac version and many of my students use Macs. However they can now use the Online version.
Reviewer photo

Jeffry G.

Industry : Education - Higher | Company size : 51-200 | Level : Manager | Focus : Education | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as User, Administrator, Member of the deployment/customization team

Jun 17, 2020

It can be 508 compliant quite easily which is a plus.

Overall Rating 60%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? I like the book structure and the use of variables. Variables are really powerful but they are a bit complicated to learn.
What do you dislike? I wish there were more videos walking through projects and how to use features. Most videos are very surface level or really old and not useful anymore.
Reviewer photo

Reviewer verified by LinkedIn

Industry : Elearning | Company size : 51-200 | Level : Entry | Focus : Education | Experience using the software : Less than 6 months as User

Jun 17, 2020

Lectora is very user friendly and fits my company's needs.

Overall Rating 100%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? I have been a Lectora users for over 13 years and I love it! Lectora Inspire allows me to build online courses that are engaging and enjoyable. It is super easy to build training that doesn’t look like all other training course out there. It allows me to be creative and to make courses that are interactive. Lectora Inspire variables have never been so easy to use and work with. Inspire comes with access to so many templates and images. The TechSmith tools (SnagIt and Camtasia) are great!
What do you dislike? N/A I have no complaints and I find Lectora to be a great tool to use to create training. The TechSmith tools are great!
Reviewer photo

Laurie T.

Industry : Nonprofit Organization Management | Company size : 501-1,000 | Level : Manager | Focus : Human Resources | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as User

Jun 17, 2020

Easy to use and with all of the tools available, it will be all we need.

Overall Rating 94%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? The book structure and ability to import outside media. I also like the ability to insert tests and surveys and the publishing options.
What do you dislike? I do not understand the variables and find it confusing. I wish that there was a class or tutorial on what we would use them for and how to use them, scenario based learning.
Reviewer photo

Reviewer verified by LinkedIn

Industry : Hospital & Health Care | Company size : 10,000+ | Level : Senior | Focus : Information Technology | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as Administrator

Jun 17, 2020

Awesome robust course authoring tool with lots of great features

Overall Rating 93%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? I like how detailed you can get into the program. While other companies focus on getting the developer in and out as quickly as possible, Lectora gives Instructional Designers the power to make learning engaging and interesting.
What do you dislike? Because of its robustness there is a bit of a learning curve. Nothing super long. But you'll want to read, watch, and practice a lot in the first couple of weeks of working.
Reviewer photo

Jennifer V.

Industry : Hospitality | Company size : 1-10 | Level : VP | Focus : Product Management | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as User, Administrator

Aug 23, 2019

It's such a flexible tool to make creative learning solutions!

Overall Rating 84%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? I love that I can be creative in how I use the different features. It isn't a cookie cutter program. While, there are templates and features that make it super easy for non-technical people to make eLearning easily, I love that it can be used by those more proficient in using variables and javascript, etc. I have made many high-powered and super-interactive eLearning projects using Lectora Online. I was happy I wasn't stuck with Storyline.
What do you dislike? New features can be a little quirky with different browsers. Sometimes the preview feature can be finicky too. Syncing audio is getting better - but it has been cumbersome in the past.
Reviewer photo

Reviewer verified by LinkedIn

Industry : Building Materials | Company size : 1,001-5,000 | Level : Manager | Focus : Education | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as User, Administrator

Aug 9, 2019

Good tool for Responsive elearning course development

Overall Rating 92%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? Lectora is great if you need to build complex courses, it gives you a lot of freedom. Adding Javascript is quite easy too. Responsive output is very good and very little bugs overall.
What do you dislike? It has a bit of learning curve in the beginning, but once you are past it, it is amazing tool.
Reviewer photo

Reviewer verified by LinkedIn

Industry : Elearning | Company size : 1-10 | Level : Owner | Focus : Business Development | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as User

Jun 14, 2019

A powerful, professional tool for eLearning professionals

Overall Rating 83%
  • Usefulness
  • Usability
  • Customer Experience
  • Likelihood to Recommend
What do you like best? The interactions most eLearning authoring tools provide never work quite how I want. But Lectora variables enabled me to build interactions that worked exactly how I envisioned. I've heard it said, "If you can think it, you can build it in Lectora!" I was skeptical of this at first, but over the years, found it to be true. Like Photoshop, Lectora takes time to master, but it enabled me to build immersive interactions and learning experiences, and THAT's an eLearning professional's job, right?
What do you dislike? Specific things take a little time. For example, making a Bullet list that animates line by line requires a separate text box for each line. In this situation, I would build the course in PowerPoint and then import into Lectora.
Reviewer photo

John M.

Industry : Retail | Company size : 10,000+ | Level : Manager | Focus : Education | Experience using the software : More than 1 year as User